A Letter to Penn

photo (19)

Dear Penn,

I miss you.

I miss Locust Walk.

I miss the people I’d get to know drunkenly on the weekends who then don’t say hi to me on Locust Walk.

I miss the flyers on Locust Walk.

Just kidding, I don’t miss the flyers on Locust Walk.

 

I miss your food.

I miss the “NY Gyro” food truck on 38th and Walnut.

I miss “Mr. Bui’s Lunch Truck” and Mr. Bui’s beautiful voice, forever climbing the stairway to heaven. Or simply telling you “Number Tree” is ready.

I miss the Wawa on 38th and Spruce.

I miss the Starbucks workers at the 1920 Commons who unconditionally hate me for making them work.

Just kidding, I don’t miss those workers.

 

I miss the sporting activities.

I miss Pottruck.

I miss playing on the third court at Pottruck, because that’s where all the kids who can’t play basketball, like me, go to play.

I miss Penn Park and the pick-up soccer there.

I miss our football and basketball teams.

Just kidding, no one misses our football and basketball teams.

 

I miss the Daily Pennsylvanian.

I miss the conversation the Daily Pennsylvanian provides me.

I miss going onto Daily Pennsylvanian opinion columns, leaving a comment, and getting my roommates to periodically up-vote the comment so it gets the most likes.

I miss doing that on Ernest Owens’ opinion pieces.

I miss Ernest Owens.

Just kidding, I don’t miss Ernest Owens.

 

I miss the social scene.

I miss “Fado” and Tim and Liverpool.

I miss the BYOs and the date nights and the thought in the back of my head: “How do I get out of this one by paying as little as possible?”

I miss meeting random foreign exchange students from Barcelona.

I miss that one girl I met at that one thing who I can’t stop talking about to my roommates who are sick of me talking about her.

I miss staying in with the roommates on a weekend evening and watching “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia.”

I miss that a lot.

 

I miss class.

I miss signing up for classes only to meet my requirement, but then having those classes influence me in a way I never imagined.

I miss the professors of these classes.

I miss the Monica Kims and the Peter Steiners.

I miss the buildings where these classes where held.

I miss the DRL.

Just kidding, no one misses the DRL.

 

I miss getting back in the swing of things.

I miss the campus.

I miss seeing the excited faces of the freshmen as they move into their dorms.

I miss that feeling of being excited to start another semester at Penn.

I miss you Penn.

I’ll see you soon.

mark and mike

Your thoughts:

